Nominations needed for Citizens Hall of Fame


They are examples of good citizenship, who each year are singled out for their outstanding contributions to the community. 

Annually, the honour bestowed upon them is induction into the WinnipegREALTORS®-established Citizens Hall of Fame.

“It’s a wonderful, unique to Canada program,” said Bill Burns, the chair of the committee overseeing the hall of fame. “Winnipeg is blessed to have so many citizens able to step forward and lead by example.”

Before another Winnipegger is inducted into the hall of fame, the public has an opportunity to nominate candidates whom they feel deserve recognition under this one-of-a-kind program established by the WinnipegREALTORS® Association in 1986.

Last year, Winnipeg businessman Robert Chipman was the 34th inductee into the hall of fame.

“It’s a wonderful salute to this man who is involved in his community in innumerable organizations,” said Laurie Pollard, who has been Chipman’s friend for 62 years.

Chipman called his induction a “family award.” The Chipman family is noted for bringing the Manitoba Moose AHL franchise to Winnipeg as well as the 

development of the 15,000-seat downtown MTS Centre.

Chipman is also a past-chair of the United Way, and has been involved in a number of local charities, as well as arts, 

education and sports organizations.

“It never ceases to amaze me how fortunate we are to have citizens who look well beyond their own needs to help all of us,” said Burns. “The magnitude of what has been done becomes more inspiring when you see the sheer number of inductees likenesses together at one site.”

Bronze sculptures of past inductees by some of Winnipeg’s most renowned artists are on display in the Formal Garden, located in the southeast portion of Assiniboine Park.  The likeness of Chipman will be added to the display this summer.

Past inductees to the hall of fame include writers Carol Shields and Gabrielle Roy, former mayors Bill Norrie and Steve Juba, Nellie McClung, Dr. Paul Thorkelson, Senator Duff Roblin, Leo Mol, Israel Asper, Vince Leah, Carl Ridd, Dr. Bruce Chown and Arnold Spohr.

Candidates who have made an outstanding contribution to Winnipeg can be nominated from a number of disciplines, including the arts, business, community service, professional and public affairs, although nominations are not limited to these fields and individuals may have accomplishments in more than one area. 

Also, nominees can be either current or posthumous.  

Once all nominations are received, they will be distributed to voting members of the committee who will then select the inductee.

Burns said the cut-off date for nominations for the hall of fame is May 30.

Nomination forms are available at 

the WinnipegREALTORS® office, 1240 Portage Ave., or on-line at